FDSQ

Orthodontics


ORTHODONTICS

An orthodontist is a highly qualified expert who specializes in aligning the teeth and jaws of children, teenagers and adults.

Orthodontics is a specialty of dentistry concerned with the diagnosis, prevention and treatment of dentofacial anomalies often called malocclusions. Dentofacial harmony is achieved through the use of orthopedic appliances that align the teeth, jaws and soft tissues. Practicing orthodontics requires advanced training and skills such as those needed to plan, fabricate, place and control these appliances appropriately.

How does someone become an orthodontist?

In order to become a certified orthodontist, a qualified dentist must complete a two- to three-year full-time orthodontic residency program recognized by the Ordre des dentistes du Québec and the Royal College of Dentists of Canada (the competent authorities).

This post-graduate program, which leads to a certificate or a master’s degree in orthodontics, must also be recognized by the Commission on Dental Accreditation of Canada. The commission reviews programs on a seven-year cycle. Its accreditation indicates that a given program meets all of the requirements for specialty training in the field of orthodontics.

Only dentists who have enrolled in, and successfully completed, this academic program may call themselves orthodontists.

Links of interest




Other Resources


Quebec Order of Dentists

Note


The information provided on this site is published only to help the reader to better understand the area of expertise of FDSQ members. No diagnosis or treatment plan should be elaborated from this information.

The opinions and recommendations expressed on this website are those of the authors, and are not necessarily endorsed by the FDSQ



Find a Specialist


↑ Top of the Page

FDSQ

Orthodontie


L'ORTHODONTIE

L’orthodontiste est un spécialiste hautement qualifié dont l’expertise est l’alignement et la coordination des dents et des mâchoires chez les enfants, chez les adolescents ainsi que chez les adultes.

L’orthodontie est cette partie de la dentisterie qui se spécialise dans le diagnostic, l’interception et le traitement des anomalies dento-faciales souvent appelées malocclusions. La pratique de cette discipline requiert de grandes aptitudes professionnelles afin d’élaborer adéquatement la planification, la fabrication, la mise en place et le contrôle des appareils dento-orthopédiques nécessaires à l’alignement des dents, des mâchoires et des tissus mous qui contribuent à l’harmonie dento-faciale.

Comment devient-on orthodontiste ?

Pour devenir orthodontiste certifié, un dentiste qualifié doit compléter avec succès un programme de résidence en orthodontie d’une durée de 2 à 3 ans à plein temps reconnu par l'Ordre des dentistes du Québec et par le Collège Royal Canadien de la Dentisterie (les autorités compétentes).

Le programme universitaire de deuxième cycle menant au certificat ou à la maîtrise en orthodontie doit être également reconnu par la Commission de l’agrément dentaire du Canada qui vérifie tous les programmes aux sept ans. L’agrément de cette commission veut dire que le programme rencontre toutes les exigences d’un programme de formation de spécialistes dans le domaine de l’orthodontie.

Seuls les dentistes ayant suivi et complété avec succès cette formation universitaire peuvent porter le titre d’orthodontiste.

Liens d'intérêt




Autres ressources


Ordre des dentistes du Québec

Avis


Les informations fournies dans ce site sont publiées dans le seul but d’aider le lecteur à mieux comprendre l’aire de compétence spécialisée des membres de la FDSQ. Aucun diagnostic ou plan de traitement ne doit être élaboré à partir de ces données.

Les opinions et recommandations exprimées sur ce site web sont celles de leurs auteurs, et ne sont pas nécessairement avalisées par la FDSQ



Trouver un spécialiste


↑ Haut de la page